The Comprehensive Plan -  The comprehensive plan provides an opportunity for cities and  counties to meet provisions  set forth in the PIA. The broad perspective is critical to developing a  successful plan and is also an opportunity to review and assess the communities’ values relative to  community building and provides for meaningful intergovernmental coordination. The new and  amended plan elements required in the PIA reinforce the comprehensive, cooperative approach to  long-term planning for sustainable development in South Carolina. Such an approach helps to curb  unmanaged growth and its unintended consequences of overextended community infrastructure  and lack of housing  choice and availability.  The comprehensive plan amendments provides  guidance to local  governments as they develop or update their plans to meet local needs,  improve fiscal responsibility and efficiency and to comply with the provisions of the PIA. Local  planning departments across the state have varying resources and staff available for updating the  comprehensive plan to conform with PIA requirements. Therefore, organization of this section  highlights “core requirements” and “enhanced components” separately for updating or preparing  new housing, transportation, and priority investment elements of the comprehensive plan. All  communities are required to complete core requirements to comply with the Act.

South Carolina Priority Investment Act #31 of 2007 - Comprehensive Plan  -  Act No. 31 of 2007 is the South Carolina Priority Investment Act. The General Assembly amended Title 6, Chapter 29 of the South Carolina Code to explicitly address housing, transportation, capital improvement planning, intergovernmental coordination, and to encourage traditional neighborhood design and the production of affordable housing.  There are several new requirements for local governments with comprehensive plans.  Beyond these requirements, however, the Act is intended to encourage good planning practices and should therefore be viewed as the “foundation” for planning jurisdictions, not the sum of what can be or should be done, though these tools, for the most part, remain in the discretion of each local government. The Act amends S.C. Code sec. 6-29-510(D) to add two new required elements.

These nine (9) element factors include:            

1.)     Population,  

2.)     Economic Development,  

3.)     Natural Resources,

4.)     Cultural Resources Community,

5.)     Facilities,

6.)     Housing,

7.)    Land Use,

8.)    Transportation,

9.)    Priority Investment.